#28 Frozen Direction – English Train Track

Everybody has had those moments where you get one moment to yourself and then all of a sudden you are reflecting on your current life thinking how did this happen? How did I get here? Not so long ago I wanted something so different. I look at what I was doing and I feel like everything was going in the right direction and then all of a sudden my direction was frozen. What mattered before didn’t matter anymore, what I wanted before was useless now, the things that got me excited before now bored me to death. Everything had changed and I hadn’t stopped for that long I didn’t realise how unhappy I was. I’m not talking about the times when you look back and you realise things didn’t go the way you planned, I’m talking about the moments where you realise your direction has frozen. You’re not moving forward or backwards, you are at a dead end.

Because of that moment when I realised I was in the middle of a frozen direction I’ve ended up going in the best direction I could imagine. So next time you are sprinting in the wrong direction or your direction has frozen, don’t let it go, don’t just carry on. Do something, anything. (Frozen reference not intentional haha). Take a few minutes to re-think about what you wanted to do and whether you still want to do it or you want to try something new.

Remember how small lego bricks are? When you put them all together they can become huge monster bricks. Don’t let the small annoying things build up into a monster thing. You never know, just changing the colour of one brick or taking it apart and rebuilding the whole thing, might mean you start loving life more than you thought you could. Frozen directions are not always a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

