Little Indian Gem near China Town in Kuala Lumpur.

Betel Leaf was my first Malaysian Indian. Whilst I was in Thailand I didn’t manage to find a real Indian restaurant. The only time I ate Indian food (which is my favourite food) in Thailand was when one of my colleagues from India cooked… It completely blew my mind. It was different from the Indian food we know and love back home in England but it is still tasty and full of flavour. So now I’m more hooked on Indian food than I was before I came, which I didn’t think was possible.

I had been told numerous times that the Indian food in Kuala Lumpur is also amazing, so it was my first stop on my arrival. I found an Indian restaurant on Google about twelve minutes from my hostel and headed straight there (after a well-needed nap). Wow. It was just as my Indian friend had cooked. So tasty, full of flavour and it looked and smelt great, with every mouthful my taste buds shouted out for more.

The only thing I didn’t like was the bone within the chicken pieces! The portions were a perfect size and the Keema Nan was packed full of meat (something I’m not used to in England as you only seem to get a little piece of meat in the centre of the Nan). After having a small breakfast this morning I wasn’t too hungry but as you can guess I eat well to much and ended up with that overly full and bloated feeling. The walk back was interesting… Even though I was that bloated I felt as though I was going to explode, I still felt extremely satisfied!

I was already excited to go to India and after being in Malaysia and a few backpackers telling me about their own experiences, I am that excited I could explode! Never mind my stomach!

Just in case you want to try it the restaurant is called Betal Leaf and it’s around seven minutes walk from the market in China Town, Kuala Lumpur.

I’m only here for five days and I would like to try a wide variety of different food whilst I’m here so if you can recommend anywhere please send me a message so I can go and check it out.

Leave a Reply

